How can I wipe a device?

Sometimes it is necessary to wipe a device. This could be caused by several reasons. For example: You've pushed a DEP Profile to a device that's already gone through the setup assistant. This device will need a wipe before the DEP Profile can be pushed.

Devices can be wiped in several ways:

  • With Apple Configurator
  • On the device itself
  • In the ZuluDesk Management System (ZMS) Device overview

Wiping the device using Apple Configurator

When using Apple Configurator 2 to wipe a device you'll need to connect your device to a Mac. When you see your device in Apple Configurator, right-click it and go to Advanced > Erase all Content and Settings:

Screen_Shot_2017-12-12_at_13.17.24.png

Wiping the device using the device itself

It is possible to wipe a device using only the device itself by going to the Settings App > General > Reset > Erase All Content and Settings:

Screen_Shot_2017-12-12_at_13.20.25.png

Note: If you do not see this option it's possible this is disabled within a restriction profile. Navigate to the restriction profile and see if Allow the use of the 'Erase All Content And Settings' setting" is checked off.

Wiping the device in ZuluDesk Management System (ZMS)

It's possible to wipe a device only using ZMS, this is done with the Wipe device option on the device details page in ZMS. Here you have the option to clear the Activation Lock when you're wiping the device:

Screenshot_2018-11-09_at_15.15.18.jpg

If you want to multiple devices you can use the bulk action in the device overview. Select the devices you want to wipe and click the red wipe button.

Screenshot_2018-11-09_at_15.15.06.jpg

 

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.